Nearly 100 college scholarships handed out by OERB


A record-breaking amount of scholarship dollars will be awarded to students at state universities studying petroleum-related fields. With a steadfast dedication to supporting the next generation of leaders, the people of Oklahoma Oil and Natural Gas are announcing $539,500 in scholarship funds will be awarded to 97 students for the 2024-2025 academic year.

The Oklahoma Energy Resources Board (OERB), funded by the oil and natural gas industry, provides scholarships for students majoring in Petroleum Engineering, Geoenergy Engineering, Geosciences, and Energy Management at Oklahoma State University, the University of Oklahoma, and the University of Tulsa.

“By investing in their academic journeys, we are investing in the future of our industry and our state,” said OERB Executive Director Mindy Stitt. “We believe by providing scholarships to outstanding students like these 94 recipients, we are fostering the future of American energy.”

The University of Oklahoma (OU) has pledged its support by matching the Geoscience and Petroleum Engineering scholarship dollars provided by the OERB. This generous matching contribution amounts to $191,750, elevating the total impact to $731,250.

Students can apply for the scholarships during each year of undergraduate work. The amount increases annually, with a $7,500 maximum scholarship for seniors. Petroleum Scholars also receive exclusive access to industry networking events and educational activities. The scholarship application period for the 2025-2026 school year will open on November 1. For a list of criteria or for more information, visit

The OERB is funded by more than 2,500 producers and thousands of royalty owners across Oklahoma through a voluntary one-tenth of 1 percent assessment on oil and natural gas production. Since 1993, the agency’s purpose is to clean historic well sites and support educational initiatives. 

Oklahoma scholarship recipients:


Brancen Redman OSU Geosciences Antlers
Arielle Alsup OSU Geosciences Bartlesville
Emily Tompkins OSU Geosciences Blanchard
Tyler Hughes TU Petroleum Engineering Blanchard
Michael Cunning OU Petroleum Engineering Cashion
Lori Huck OSU Geosciences Collinsville
Stella Sage OSU Petroleum Engineering Edmond
Jack Wilson OSU Petroleum Engineering Edmond
Samuel Green OSU Petroleum Engineering Edmond
Reagan Tollefson OSU Petroleum Engineering Edmond
Samuel Mooney OSU Petroleum Engineering Edmond
Preston Fry OU Energy Management Edmond
Reed Kanaly OU Energy Management Edmond
Aiden Jackson OU Geosciences Edmond
Murphy Vincent OSU Petroleum Engineering El Reno
Emerson Warren OSU Petroleum Engineering El Reno
Braeden Moreland OU Geosciences Elgin
Bryce Schulke OU Petroleum Engineering Elgin
Rylee Wyatt OSU Petroleum Engineering Elk City
Nicholas Smith OSU Petroleum Engineering Enid
John Pethoud TU Petroleum Engineering Enid
Parker Lynn OU Geosciences Lawton
Ava Jenkins OU Petroleum Engineering Minco
Kristopher Barlow OU Energy Management Moore
Tristin Cathey OU Energy Management Newcastle
Christian Casey OU Petroleum Engineering Noble
Nicole Prada OU Energy Management Norman
Zoey Landers OU Energy Management Norman
Faith Branstetter OU Petroleum Engineering Nowata
Emery Hammond OU Energy Management Oklahoma City
Jack Spanier OU Energy Management Oklahoma City
William Jackson OU Energy Management Oklahoma City
Joshua Kleckner OU Energy Management Oklahoma City
Isabella Mendoza OU Geosciences Oklahoma city
Emily Elder OU Geosciences Oklahoma City
Hudson Moseby OSU Geosciences Owasso
Tyler Blake OSU Petroleum Engineering Owasso
Michael Cintron TU Energy Management Putnam City/ Oklahoma City
Eloan Trejo OU Petroleum Engineering Ringwood
David Fares OU Petroleum Engineering The Village
Joseph O’Connor OU Energy Management Tulsa
Alexa Miranda TU Energy Management Tulsa
Rowaid Abouhassoun TU Petroleum Engineering Tulsa
Henry Anderson TU Petroleum Engineering Tulsa
Bryan Gonzalez TU Petroleum Engineering Tulsa
Gloria Lee TU Petroleum Engineering Tulsa
Francisco Caballero TU Petroleum Engineering Tulsa
Collin DeHay OSU Geosciences Tulsa, Oklahoma
Evan Dunn OSU Petroleum Engineering Woodward, OK