Subcommittee chairs named in State Senate

The Oklahoma energy industry and its lobbyists know who they will be dealing with on energy topics and appropriations in the 2019 session of the state legislature.  At least in the State Senate.

Senator Greg Treat, president pro tempore-designate of the Senate announced his selections of Senate appropriations subcommittee chairs.

Tulsa Republican Sen. Gary Stanislawski will chair the Subcommittee on General Government and Transportation.

The Subcommittee on Natural Resources and Regulatory Services will be chaired by Sen. Darcy Jech, a Republican from Kingfisher.

“Work on the budget never ceases at the state Capitol, even during the interim. I am naming the next set of appropriations subcommittee chairs in the Senate right now, so they can officially get to work on their specific areas of the Fiscal Year 2020 budget,” said Treat, R-Oklahoma City. “Tax policy is a high priority of the Senate, and the Finance Committee will return to standing committee status to focus on tax reform and banking issues.”

“This is a talented group of senators with a wide variety of experience and skills sets. I know they are up to the challenge I have extended to them to carefully scrutinize the budget so that we can ensure our tax dollars are being used wisely and efficiently, and so that we can root out waste and duplication,” Treat said.