FEMA steps in to offer help to three Oklahoma counties


The three southern Oklahoma counties devastated by the weekend tornadoes that also left four people dead are getting disaster assistance benefits from FEMA.

FEMA announced the disaster help is going to Hughes, Love and Murray Counties as they were hardest hit by the tornado outbreak.

Governor Kevin Stitt said he appreciated how quickly FEMA has responded to Oklahoma’s deadly tornados.

“I appreciate the support and quick action from the White House and FEMA in approving Oklahoma’s request for federal disaster assistance in the wake of devastating storms. As damage assessments continue, I will request aid for all counties that suffered losses to homes or businesses, whether from tornadoes, flooding, or other severe weather,” Stitt said.

Stitt declared a disaster emergency for 16 counties affected by the severe weather. FEMA will continue to consider granting more assistance to the other counties.