Longtime energy executive named to ConocoPhillips board of directors

Incoming AVANGRID CEO Dennis Arriola (Photo: Business Wire)


ConocoPhillips announced that its board of directors has elected  Dennis V. Arriola to serve as a board member.

Arriola has spent more than 28 years in the energy sector, most recently serving as chief executive officer of Avangrid, Inc. Prior to joining Avangrid, he served as executive vice president and group president and chief sustainability officer at Sempra Energy.

Throughout his career, Arriola has served in a broad range of leadership positions in gas and electric utilities as well as renewables, including as chairman, president and chief executive officer of Southern California Gas Co., senior vice president and chief financial officer of both San Diego Gas & Electric and Southern California Gas Co., vice president of communications and investor relations for Sempra, and regional vice president and general manager of Sempra’s South American operations.

“We are pleased to add Dennis to the ConocoPhillips board of directors,” said Ryan Lance, chairman and chief executive officer. “Dennis brings valuable perspective and expertise in the energy sector, particularly in renewables and low carbon energy. We look forward to his contributions as we deliver on our Triple Mandate of meeting energy transition pathway demand, generating competitive returns on and of capital, and achieving our net-zero emissions ambition.”

Arriola previously served on the boards of Avangrid, Inc., the California Latino Economic Institute, the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, the California Business Roundtable, the Edison Electric Institute, and the boards of several Sempra operating companies, including Infraestructura Energética Nova, a publicly traded company in Mexico, Luz del Sur SAA, a publicly traded company in Peru, and Chilquinta Energía in Chile.

Arriola’s appointment increases the number of ConocoPhillips directors to 14, of which 12 are independent. He will serve on the Human Resources and Compensation Committee and the Audit and Finance Committee of the ConocoPhillips board.