Dozens of Oklahoma legislators automatically reelected


Forty-four legislators in Oklahoma won automatic reelection on Friday when no one filed to oppose them as the three-day filing period for candidates came to an end in Oklahoma City. It means a lot of campaign money won’t have to be spent by them.

They will be among those making future decisions regarding laws on oil and gas, wind farm operations and mining in the state.

Eight senators are among the 44 who drew no opposition while 38 state representatives were also on the list of reelection.


The representatives include:

Republican Steve Bashore was the only person to file for House District 7, which is being vacated early by Rep. Ben Loring (D-Miami).

Source: NonDoc