National Mining Hall of Fame to induct newest honorees

Just as Oklahoma has oil and gas museums stretching from Elk City to Ames, to Seminole and numerous other cities, the city of Leadville, Colorado has its National Mining Hall of Fame and Museum.

And it’s preparing to induct the class of 2018 National Mining Hall of Fame inductees. They are Professor John Guilbert, Dr. Leo Miller, Robert Murray and Douglas Silver who will join 240 other mining industry luminaries when formally inducted Sept. 29, 2018.

Guilbert was a renowned geologist and Professor of Economic Geology at the University of Arizona. His work led to the discover of hundreds of millions of tons of copper metal around the world.

Dr. Leo Miller, described as a maverick in the mining industry who believed fieldwork with a rock pick was indispensable spent more than 50 years in the industry.

Robert Murray is founder and chairman of Murray Coal and also a primary spokesman for the coal industry.  He’s spent 60 years in a mining career.

Douglas Silver is the founder of International Royalty Co.and the Denver Gold Group, the world’s premier gold investment forum.