Two FERC Nominees Confirmed by US Senate

Oklahoma Senators Jim Inhofe and James Lankford helped confirm two new members to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission on Thursday.

It was considered an important step in returning a quorum to the agency.

The Senate gave a voice vote for Neil Chatterjee and Robert Powelson.

“Neil Chatterjee and Rob Powelson will bring strong, pro-energy perspectives to FERC,” said Sen. Inhofe. “Neil is a good friend of mine and I have seen first-hand his robust knowledge of energy issues and I am confident that Rob is a strong and qualified pick as well.”

Powelson’s a Pennsylvania state regulator while Chatterje is an aide to Senate Majority leader Mitch McConnell of Kentucky.

The FERC has been without a quorum since February following the resignation of Chairman Norman Bay. Since then, even though staff went about performing work, the agency could not issue major decisions.

“This gap has left over $14 billion in pipeline and infrastructure projects in limbo, hurting industry and consumers,” added Inhofe.

Two other nominees await confirmation to the five-member agency.