Oklahoma Senate will have to choose new leader for next session

Voters have “thrown a wrench” into Oklahoma Senate plans for Republican Senator Greg McCortney to be its next President Pro Tem.

The incumbent McCortney lost to Jonathan Wingard in Tuesday’s primary in Senate District 13.  The relatively close race was decided by about 250 votes.

At the end of the regular legislative session the Senate Republican Caucus chose McCortney to succeed Pro Tem Greg Treat, who was term-limited.  McCortney has served eight years in the Senate and had assumed the leadership post of Majority Floor Leader.

There is no Democratic candidate for the district covering portions of five counties in southern Oklahoma, so Oklahoma National Guard combat veteran Wingard will serve in the 60th Oklahoma Legislature.