New leadership announced for Chesapeake Energy and Southwestern Energy merger

Chesapeake Energy announced its new leadership team once its merger is completed later this year with Southwestern Energy of Houston.
In a filing with the Securities and Exchange Commission, Chesapeake President and CEO Nick Dell’Osso Jr. revealed who the New Company’s executive officers will be along with the Board of Directors.
“As previously announced, I will serve as President and CEO,” he said, adding that Chris Lacy will serve as Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, Mohit Singh will serve as Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer and Josh Viets will serve as Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer.
Lacy has been the Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary at Southwestern. He has been with the Houston company since 2014 and has nearly 20 years of legal experience.
Singh has been Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer at Chesapeake Energy since 2021. He previously spent six years on the leadership team at BPX Energy.
Viets was named Chesapeake Energy’s Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer in 2022. He earlier was Vice President of the Delaware operation in the Permian Basin Business Unit for ConocoPhillips.
“Additionally, we announced NewCo’s Board of Directors. As previously announced, Mike Wichterich will serve as Chairman, and the Board will be comprised of John Gass, Catherine Kehr, Shameek Konar and Anne Taylor from Southwestern and Timothy Duncan, Benjamin Duster, Sarah Emerson, Matt Gallagher, Brian Steck and myself from Chesapeake,” added Dell’Osso.
The SEC filing indicated Ben Russ will remain as Chesapeake’s General Counsel through the close of the transaction.
“We will be announcing the broader NewCo leadership team, which will be comprised of leaders from both Chesapeake and Southwestern, in the coming weeks,” added Dell’Osso.
The merger was announced in January but a deeper examination  by the Federal Trade Commission has delayed shareholder votes at both companies.