Anti-pipeline activist in Nebraska wins national environmental award

FILE - Jane Kleeb, founder of Bold Nebraska, participates in a meeting with other anti-Keystone XL pipeline activists, Jan. 15, 2015, in York, Neb. Kleeb, chair of the Nebraska Democratic Party and the founder of pipeline opposition group Bold Nebraska, and Gita Syahrani, who recently led the Sustainable District Association and convened the Earth-Based Economy Coalition to accelerate sustainable development in Indonesia, have been named the recipients of the 2023 Climate Breakthrough Award, which offers the world’s largest climate grant for individuals. (AP Photo/Nati Harnik, File)


A Nebraska woman who led the movement against the proposed Keystone XL pipeline in her state was recently honored by a nonprofit climate-action organization in San Francisco.

We’ve reported in the past how Jane Kleeb started her opposition to the pipeline when the developer revealed plans showing its path through Nebraska.

She formed the group Bold Nebraska and recently became the third U.S. recipient of the Climate Breakthrough Award named after the organization. Kleeb also became chair of the Nebraska Democratic Party

An Indonesian, Gita Syahrani who led groups attempting to accelerate sustainable development in the country is that country’s second recipient.

Click here for Associated Press