Oklahomans split votes on energy bills in the House

Oklahomans in the House split their votes this week on two energy bills.

The House approved the Diesel Emissions Reduction Act of 2019, also known as H.R. 1768 on a vote of 295-114. Known as DERA, the act was originally approved in 2005 to fund federal and state loan programs to rebuild diesel-powered vehicle engines to more stringent emission standards or to install emission reduction systems.


Republican Reps. Tom Cole and Frank Lucas were joined by Democrat Rep. Kendra Horn in supporting the measure while Republican Reps. Markwayne Mullin and Kevn Hern voted against the measure.

The Energy Efficient Government Technology Act, or H.R. 1420 won approval on a vote of 384-23. Reps Cole, Lucas, Horn and Mullin voted for it while Tulsa Congressman Hern voted no.

The Energy Efficient Government Technology Act directs federal agencies to harness best practices and energysaving technologies to reduce energy use within the federal government’s data centers.