Oklahomans join in U.S. House rejection of carbon tax

Oklahoma’s members in the U.S. House were among those who passed a nonbinding measure denouncing a carbon tax, saying it was “detrimental” to the nation.

Reps. Tom Cole, Frank Lucas, Markwayne Mullin and Steve Russell joined 225 others in the House in support of the resolution which said a tax on emissions of carbon dioxide “would be detrimental to American families and businesses, and is not in the best interest of the United States.”

The final vote was 229-180 with two members voting “present.” They were Republican Ryan Costello of Pennsylvania and Democrat Michelle Lujan Grisham of New Mexico.

Six Republicans voted against the resolution. They were Reps. Carlos Curbelo of Florida, Brian Fitzpatrick of Pennsylvania, Trey Hollingsworth of Indiana, Mia Love of Utah, Francis Rooney of Florida and Illeana Ros-Lehtinen of Florida.

Seven Democrats broke with their cause and voted “yes” and they were Reps. Sanford Bishop of Georgia, Henry Cuellar of Texas, Vicente Gonzalez of Texas, Conor Lamb of Pennsylvania, Stephanie Murphy of Florida, Tom O’Halleran of Arizona and Kyrsten Sinema of Arizona.

Seven Democrats broke with their caucus to vote “yes”: Reps. Sanford Bishop (Ga.), Henry Cuellar (Texas), Vicente González (Texas), Conor Lamb (Pa.), Stephanie Murphy (Fla.), Tom O’Halleran (Ariz.) and Kyrsten Sinema (Ariz.), who is running for the Senate.

While the risk is thought to be low that congress will pass a carbon tax, Republicans apparently felt the need to make a statement and denounce its possibility.


“This resolution will send a clear signal to the American people that we oppose policies that would drive up energy prices for families and for businesses,” Rep. Kenny Marchant (R-Texas) said Thursday on the House floor.

“A stand-alone carbon tax, generally, would have such detrimental effects on the economy and would be an unwarranted and transparent grab for revenue,” he said.