Corporation Commissioner ends up in runoff to become Oklahoma’s next Lt. Governor


The office of Oklahoma Lieutenant Governor sometimes opens the door to becoming governor. Look at David Boren. George Nigh and Mary Fallin. Such will not be the case for Todd Lamb who lost Tuesday’s GOP primary election to Mick Cornett and Kevin Stitt.

So it means one of three persons in the race to replace Lamb will end up becoming the state’s next Lieutenant Governor. One of them is Oklahoma Corporation Commissioner Dana Murphy.

While she received the most votes in the bid for the GOP nomination on Tuesday, she and former state and national Republican party leader Matt Pinnell will go head-to-head in the Aug. 28 primary.

Murphy received 45.85% or 196,727 of the 425,105 votes cast on Tuesday but failed to get 50% plus one to win the nomination. Pinnell trailed with 35.70% or 153,178 votes.

Afterward, Murphy, elected to the Corporation Commission in 2008 issued a statement.

“While traveling the state over the past 11 months, I’ve met so many citizens who want to restore faith in our government,” she said. “Our work isn’t done yet! Over the next two months, I will continue to show Oklahomans what I can bring to the role of Lt. Governor, and how I’m uniquely prepared for this position.”

She went on to say that creating lasting change and not temporary fixes will be the hart of her message.

“Oklahomans are tired of moving from crisis to crisis. It’s time for something different in Oklahoma leadership and I’m excited to move forward in bringing that message to all citizens, regardless of party affiliation.”

But party affiliation has been important to Pinnell who served as Oklahoma Republican Party chairman, the youngest in the country at the time. He later became the National State Party Director at the Republican National Committee and boasts of helping elect a Republican majority in the U.S. Senate in 2014 and putting Donald Trump in the White House in 2016.

He has campaigned on the issue of fighting for smaller government, less regulation and a pro-growth business environment.

The winner of the GOP runoff will face Democrat Anastasia Pittman who won the Democratic nomination with 50.42% or 188,676 out of the 374,230 votes cast in the election. She beat Anna Dearmore who had 49.58% of the votes.