PSO hands out more grants to innovative teachers


Public Service Company announced the awarding of $4,800 in new AEP Teacher Vision Grants to teachers in 8 schools to help them with innovative approaches to improve student learning in the classroom.

Individual grants up to $500 have been awarded to teachers in Antlers, Atoka, Hinton, Hobart, Idabel, Olustee-Eldorado, Rattan and Tulsa.  The amount awarded totals $4,800.

“If adequate funding is all that stands between a teacher and a new classroom adventure, that’s where our Teacher Vision Grants can help,” said Tiffini Jackson, PSO vice president for external affairs. “We have a deep appreciation for educators who inspire students to think creatively and develop a love of learning to prepare them for the future.”

The AEP Teacher Vision Grant program was launched in 2003 to provide aid ranging from $100 to $500 to classroom teachers. As an AEP Company, PSO offers educators who live or teach in our service area the opportunity to apply for the mini-grants.

Projects with an academic focus and goal of improving student achievement are eligible for consideration. AEP has a special interest in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM), electrical safety, the study of energy and a sustainable environment, and energy efficiency.

Individuals receiving Teacher Vision Grants are:

  • Matthew Whitaker…Olustee-Eldorado Public Schools
  • Brittney Webster…Hinton Elementary School
  • Wayna Leyba…Antlers Elementary School
  • Krystal Day…Antlers Elementary School
  • Kimberly Thueson…Wayman Tisdale Fine Arts Academy
  • Sandra Lawrence…Wayman Tisdale Fine Arts Academy
  • Terri Bastible…Primary South Elementary (Idabel)
  • Vanessa Baker…Hobart Public Schools
  • Angela Ervin…Rattan Elementary School
  • Monica Cathey…Atoka Elementary School

For more information on the AEP Teacher Vision Grants program and other AEP education initiatives, see

Source: press release

%d bloggers like this: