Advanced Power Alliance picks OU Senior for scholar program

The Advanced Power Alliance (APA) is proud to commence its 2020 Clean Energy Scholar Program with its first scholar selection, Sarah Smallwood, a senior at the University of

The APA’s Clean Energy Scholar Program is a first-of-its-kind, comprehensive apprenticeship in the development and promotion of clean energy. Over the course of six months, the experience provides students with an in-depth look at the renewables industry from community outreach programs, policy
development and career pathways. The goal of the program is to identify and help place the region’s most promising college students into roles that will help advance clean energy development and policies.

Mark Yates, vice president of the APA says
the organization has plans to grow the program and
plans to announce additional Clean Energy Scholars
in the future across its geographical footprint of
Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska.

“The clean energy sector is among the fastest-growing jobs in Oklahoma with long-term career opportunities. This program is part of our workforce development goals to grow and retain Oklahoma-based graduates in the renewable energy industry, ” said Yates. “Sarah Smallwood is an excellent choice to launch Oklahoma Power Alliance’s Clean Energy Scholar program. She has a strong academic record at the University of Oklahoma, and we think her passion for clean energy will be advantageous.”

Smallwood is a senior at the University of Oklahoma, pursuing simultaneous degrees in Journalism with an emphasis in Public Relations, and Environmental Studies. She is a 2015 graduate of
Norman High School.

“I look forward to learning more about the renewable energy industry and am honored to have
been selected for this opportunity,” Smallwood said.

Headquartered in Austin, Texas, the APA is the advanced power industry’s voice within the fourteen states of the Electric
Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT) and Southwest Power Pool (SPP) systems: Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota,
Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas and Wyoming.

Source: APA press release