Oilman among honorees in Oklahoma Hall of Fame

Oklahoma oilman James C. Day was one of eight persons inducted this month into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame.

The Pond Creek native spent 44 years in the energy sector including 14 years at ONEOK. He spent 30 years at Noble Corporation where he was Chairman of the Board, Chief Executive Officer and President.

He, and his team, helped build one of the largest worldwide offshore drilling companies, which started in Oklahoma in 1921. Over his tenure, the market capitalization grew 15,000% and the company became a member of the Standard & Poor’s 500 and Fortune 500.

Day has served, or is currently serving, on seven public company’s board of directors. Day, through the James C. and Teresa K. Day Foundation, has been a strong supporter of many Oklahoma endeavors. Entities supported are the Cherokee Strip Regional Heritage Center; National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum; Oklahoma Historical Society; Oklahoma History Center; Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence; Charles B. Goddard Center for Visual and Performing Arts, Inc.; Arcadia Trails; Pond Creek-Hunter High School; and the University of Oklahoma, who recently inducted him into the Seed Sower Society. Day also served as co-chair for the 125th Live On University Campaign for the University of Oklahoma.

The 2019 Oklahoma Hall of Fame Honorees are: James C. Day, Pond Creek; Tricia Everest, Oklahoma City; Gray Frederickson, Oklahoma City; John Herrington, Wetumka; Steve Largent, Tulsa; John T. Nickel, Muskogee; J.C. Watts, Jr., Eufaula; and Chief Allen Wright/Kiliahote, Mississippi/Boggy Depot, Choctaw Nation will be inducted posthumously.

%d bloggers like this: