New Leaders Take Over at OIPA

The annual meeting of the Oklahoma Independent Petroleum Association ended with a change in leadership for the coming year. Berry Mullennix has taken over as chairman of the association’s board of directors while Tim Wigley assumed the role of OIPA President.

The OIPA is considered the largest oil and gas organization in the state with 2,300 members.

Mullennix is president and CEO of Tulsa’s Panther Energy III. He replaces outgoing chairman Jeff McDougall of JMA Energy Company. Mullennix will serve a two-year term ending in June of 2019.

Wigley, the new president, joined the OIPA in December as executive vice president of government affairs and replaces Mike Terry who announced his retirement last year.

Mullennix started his oil and gas career as a roughneck for Four Corners Drilling while he was a student at New Mexico State University. In 1995, he formed Mannix Oil Company then in 2003, started Cannon Energy which was the predecessor of Panther Energy Company.




Other OIPA officers named at the annual meeting are:

  • Vice-Chair East — Randy Sullivan, Avalon Exploration, Inc., Tulsa
  • Vice-Chair West — Kim Hatfield, Crawley Petroleum, Oklahoma City
  • Secretary — Blu Hulsey, Continental Resources, Inc., Oklahoma City
  • Treasurer — Chad McDougall, JMA Energy Company, Oklahoma City
  • Wildcatters PAC President — David Le Norman, Le Norman Operating, Inc., Oklahoma City


%d bloggers like this: